Devotion 12/15/13

Scripture reference:
John 1:43-48
“The next day Jesus decided to go to Galilee. He found Philip and said to him, “Follow me.” Now Philip was from Bethsaida, the city of Andrew and Peter. Philip found Nathanael and said to him, “We have found him of whom Moses in the Law and also the prophets wrote, Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.” Nathanael said to him, “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” Philip said to him, “Come and see.” Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him and said of him, “Behold, an Israelite indeed, in whom there is no deceit. Nathanael said to him, “How do you know me?” Jesus answered him, “Before Philip called you, when you were under the fig tree, I saw you.”

When we were teenagers, Daddy asked us to come downstairs and write out a list of our friends on Mama’s chalkboard. We all did and we were looking at each other’s list, sizing them up and making comments. Daddy then noticed that we had similar friends which was cool with us. He had said to cross out the ones that he and Mama met. We all crossed the names out and then stood by. When we looked at the board, the list of names that appeared uncrossed were far more than the ones crossed. He then asked a simple question, “why haven’t I met these (pointing to uncrossed) if they are your friends don’t you think it’s important for your parents to meet them as well?” We all sat there and I thought it made complete sense.
I think about that moment and how I felt when he asked me that. I think about how today, I never want God to ask me that question. My prayer and desire is to have my life point others directly to God. That my actions and words truly line up showing others the God that I serve. I want to introduce as many as possible to my Lord my God!!

Question for y’all …have you introduced your friends to your Heavenly Father?

Love y’all

3 thoughts on “Devotion 12/15/13

  1. Tina…blessings for putting this together. I didn’t know you were blogging…keep it up. I have recently been trying to be more strategic in how I go about sharing Christ with friends/customers/etc. This was a great reminder, both of your folks, but also of our commitment to Christ.

    I find myself also taking notes now that I’m a dad of the best way to have these kind of conversations. What a great example.

    Thanks again…

    Jomo

Leave a Reply

